• WallStreetWindow
  • Posts
  • The Silver/Copper Surge Teaches Us A Lesson As Questions About Meme Stock Gamestop Pump/Dump Action Linger

The Silver/Copper Surge Teaches Us A Lesson As Questions About Meme Stock Gamestop Pump/Dump Action Linger

Become A Better Trader And More Informed Investor

Well, it looks like we are poised for a new record opening high for the price of gold this morning and silver is trading up about 3% as I write this.

On Friday, the price of copper closed at a new high for the year too ,after it went up 3.55%. It was a big day and it came after a day in which copper came off sharply from a previous high. If you can remember, last week I did an update on copper, telling you that I was very bullish on it in the long-run, but a little worried that the short-term price action may be overextended, making a pullback or pause likely.

One reason I was a little worried about that, because the WSJ did a big story about everyone in the world being bullish on copper. It was making big news everywhere.

So, I was a little cautious about pounding the table on it, like I was back in March with the BCIM ETF, which I still own, and is an industrial metals ETF, heavily weighted with copper holdings.

I just don’t want to tell people to chase something without a good entry point.

Well, copper simply had a one day dip on Thursday, and went up again on Friday.

And this morning it looks like silver and gold are going to open higher again.

The lesson we can take from that is this metals bull market is real, it is going up fast, and if you are already in just hang on for the ride.

If you have a giant position in anything it is easy to get shaken out.

So, I just own positions that are not too big for me, but just big enough.

That’s what you got to do in order to hold through a bull market.

That’s the lesson we can take from last week’s copper action - and the price action in silver too, which is really taking off now, closing last week above $30 an ounce.

In case you missed it, check out my Sunday weekend update:

Top Financial News Of The Day

Market Commentators

Also Of Interest

And…..in case you don’t know

I’ve been running my WallStreetWindow website now for over twenty years, but you are actually an early BETA tester in a new email list service, called Beehiiv that I’m using. It’s enabling me to make what is now a new nice email format for these newsletters and over the next few weeks I’m going to move my thousands of subscribers over from my older lists to this one that you are on. After I do that, I’m likely to add some optional pay bonus options, which you’ll get to participate in for almost nothing (90% discounts), because you are one of the first dozen subscribers on this email list.

-Mike

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in this newsletter are those of WallstreetWindow its editors and contributors, and may change without notice. The information in this newsletter may become outdated and we have no obligation to update it. The information in this newsletter is not intended to constitute individual investment advice and is not designed to meet your personal financial situation. It is provided for information purposes only and nothing herein constitutes investment, legal, accounting or tax advice, or a recommendation to buy, sell or hold a security. No recommendation or advice is being given as to whether any investment is suitable for a particular investor or a group of investors. It should not be assumed that any investments in securities, companies, sectors or markets identified and described were or will be profitable. We strongly advise you to discuss your investment options with a financial adviser prior to making any investments, including whether any investment is suitable for your specific needs. WallStreetWindow is owned by Timingwallstreet, Inc. and it is not a registered investment advisor and does not provide individual investment advice. This is a publication for the general public.