• WallStreetWindow
  • Posts
  • Here Is Why I Keep Writing About The Financial Markets For You

Here Is Why I Keep Writing About The Financial Markets For You

Become A Better Trader And More Informed Investor

I’ve been writing about the financial markets now since 1999, that’s over 25 years now, and today I want to tell you why I keep doing it, why I don’t stop writing about the financial markets for you.

The best way I can tell you about why I write may be to tell you about something I just read.

I just finished reading the book The Color of Money, which was made into a movie.

If you remember, The Color of Money was a big Tom Cruise/Paul Newman movie in the 1980’s, made as a sequel to the classic movie The Hustler, which starred Newman and Jackie Gleason as Minnesota Fats.

The movies were about shooting pool, but the book The Color of Money is nothing like the movie, and that’s why I read it.

The book has the character Minnesota Fats in it, as an older man at the end of his pool shooting days, and the movie had Tom Cruise, as a punk kid, instead. But in the book, the author had a totally different story than what was in the movie in mind, and I wanted to know what it was.

In the book Minnesota Fats says something like what is fun in life is making money, being significant at something, and sex.

Stock trading for me, is like shooting pool is for them.

There is nothing like stock trading when things are lined up for you with a good trade. It doesn’t happen every day or every month, but when it happens it happens, and this looks like it is going to be a good year. There is a famous scene in The Hustler talking about that feeling.

You might think, well writing can help one be significant if there are a lot of readers. It does help with making connections with people, by helping to connect with people who have similar interests in the markets and trading, and have similar perspectives on the best way to do just that.

But there is also another bigger reason for me.

Writing about the markets helps me think about them and organize my thoughts, which helps my trading and investing.

People who “write” or create “art” using AI, and fooling people into thinking they are creating the works, have no idea what they are missing out on.

There is pleasure in being creative and making something.

Writing can bring that feeling, using “AI” cannot.

Writing is a skill that can go away if you stop doing it regularly.

If you do it regularly, it can become a part of your regular routine, just like daily exercise can be, and doesn’t have to take a long time to do it.

When you write, the topic you write about, enters your subconscious mind, and then you’ll often get flashes of insight from that from time to time.

Writing about the markets on a regular basis keeps me plugged into what is going on with them.

My writing about the markets helps make me a better trader and more informed investor and it is my hope it does the same for you.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to WallStreetWindow to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now