• WallStreetWindow
  • Posts
  • How Is This Gold Rally Going To Play Out For The Rest Of 2024?

How Is This Gold Rally Going To Play Out For The Rest Of 2024?

In partnership with

Become A Better Trader And More Informed Investor

The GDX gold stock index has been outperforming the S&P 500 since March.

Yesterday morning I mentioned RIOT stock as one to avoid at all costs as it is a money losing Bitcoin “miner.”

It fell over 5% by the end of the day.

Gold also made a new high again yesterday while Bitcoin had another nasty down day, but how is this gold rally likely to play out for the rest of this year?

I talked about that question in an Inside WallStreetWindow Podcast with Jordan Roy-Byrne of thedailygold.com.

You can find the podcast on Spotify.

It’s also mirrored on Youtube, although they do not push it out at all, in a video you can find here.

No “AI” was used to write this email or edit it.

  • Master the market in 5 minutes per day

  • Hot stock alerts sent directly to your phone

  • 150,000+ active subscribers and growing fast!

Top Financial News Of The Day

Market Commentators

Tickets So Expensive Its Nuts

And…..

What do I do with positions I have losses on?

Yesterday I wrote this:

Here is an interesting tip from CNBC:

"For 2024, you may qualify for the 0% long-term capital gains rate with a taxable income of up to $47,025 if you’re a single filer or up to $94,050 for married couples filing jointly."

"You can use the 0% bracket to reset your “basis” or original purchase price, by selling a profitable asset and then immediately repurchasing. "

https://www.cnbc.com/2024/08/26/zero-percent-capital-gains-bracket.html

This talks about winning positions, positions you are up on, but what should you do with positions you are down on?

I hate having losses in my account and from time to time I periodically look at my accounts and simply SELL any such positions I see and REALIZE the losses in them.

Then I can either write them off on my taxes or apply them to future capital gains.

I may buy back thirty days later after the wash sale period is over, but if the position goes up after I sell I don’t care, because I’ll just buy something else.

You see there are thousands of things that trade in the markets.

If I have loss on something, then it didn’t do what I expected and selling it gets you out of a bad position.

This means that if I had bought a Bitcoin ETF this year and am down on it I WOULD SELL IT.

If you are in that position, you might keep holding, I know the Bitcoin gurus try to guilt trip people who listened to them and bought some virtual crypto coin into never selling, but I WOULD NOT HODL I WOULD SELL!

Bitcoin isn’t doing what the Bitcoin gurus predicted it would either, because it has not been going up this month when everything else has.

Gold hit new highs this month, and Bitcoin has DONE NOTHING.

Every basic trading book tells you to sell losers and hold the winners.

Making money comes from studying common sense and not listening to hype.

-Mike

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in this newsletter are those of WallstreetWindow its editors and contributors, and may change without notice. The information in this newsletter may become outdated and we have no obligation to update it. The information in this newsletter is not intended to constitute individual investment advice and is not designed to meet your personal financial situation. It is provided for information purposes only and nothing herein constitutes investment, legal, accounting or tax advice, or a recommendation to buy, sell or hold a security. No recommendation or advice is being given as to whether any investment is suitable for a particular investor or a group of investors. It should not be assumed that any investments in securities, companies, sectors or markets identified and described were or will be profitable. We strongly advise you to discuss your investment options with a financial adviser prior to making any investments, including whether any investment is suitable for your specific needs. WallStreetWindow is owned by Timingwallstreet, Inc. and it is not a registered investment advisor and does not provide individual investment advice. This is a publication for the general public.